In Idaho, driving while intoxicated charges are based on a short range of blood-alcohol content readings. The driver faces potential fines, driver’s licenses suspensions, and ignition interlocking devices. A DWI Law Attorney in Twin Falls ID shows the driver all potential penalties and punishments according to their exact charges.
Idaho State Statute 18-8004
According to the state statute, the laws prohibit all drivers from operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. The statute defines 0.08 percent as the blood-alcohol content reading that constitutes a DUI. The state imposes a DWI for any drivers who have a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.04 percent but doesn’t exceed 0.07 percent.
What Can Drivers Expect During a Traffic Stop?
Law enforcement officers must have probable cause to stop the driver. Probable cause is any valid reason to stop the driver such as a regulatory traffic violation. The moving violation could be anything from a blown tag light to driving too slow. If the officer suspects a DUI or DWI, they initiate field sobriety tests. A refusal to submit to testing leads to additional charges and penalties.
Are There Additional Charges That Could Apply?
Yes, any driver that has empty or opened alcohol products face charges for an open container. If they are intoxicated at a publicly-accessible location, the driver incurs charges for public intoxication. Adults who give alcohol to minors incur charges for contributing to the delinquency of a minor.
What is Aggravated DWI?
Aggravated DWI charges apply when the passengers in the vehicle are under the age of fourteen. The same charge could apply if the drunk driver causes a traffic accident. The charges can include moving violations such as reckless driving as well as speeding after an accident. The conditions that constitute an aggravated DWI could lead to a child endangerment charge, too.
In Idaho, driving while intoxicated charges are proven through breathalyzer and blood tests. According to the law, drivers have the right to request an attorney before they submit to testing. However, the driver is still required to provide a blood sample for testing. Drivers facing the charges contact a DWI Law Attorney in Twin Falls ID or Browse our website for more details.